Back at it

By the time I suspect you are reading this, I will have returned to the workforce. I have dwelled on this quite a bit. The good and the bad, the pros and the cons. But it’s all a bit futile, because the reality is that I’m going back to work tomorrow. Period. And as I’ve posted before, I’m grateful to have gainful employment. But I have to tell you, I have the most serious case of what I like to call the “Sunday Night Blues” of my life. It’s going to take a lot of outside busyness and family time to get over this particular hump.

To get in the proper mindset, here are a few positive things about which I have been reminding myself:

In general, I like the people I support.

I like the products we make and how wholesome and nutritious they are.

Having a schedule helps me get more done in all facets of my life.

I think I do a good job in my role and it helps me to feel accomplished.

In general, I like working. It’s been a part of my life longer than it hasn’t been.

I am able to make good use of both my undergraduate and graduate degrees, experiences that I dedicated a lot of time and money to.

People are people everywhere. This is important to remember because the angst I’m feeling doesn’t really have anything to do with my specific company or workplace. I would feel this way regardless of the company. As a former boss told me before starting a new role, there are a$$holes everywhere. I just haven’t met them in my new role yet. So true.

Hopefully I’ll spend the next few posts catching up about the Thanksgiving prep and events, rather than complaining about things. Oh! And share the family photos we just had taken last week. There are some adorable ones in there.

For now, I’ve gotta get the bag ready for Frederick’s first day of school!

Leave a Reply

