Giving thanks 12

Today would have been my Grandpa Shields’ birthday. He died a few years ago, but I think about him almost every day. I wonder what he might say or do in certain circumstances and, invariably, I think of my Grandma Shields. Sometimes something or someone reminds me of Grandma Shields. Looking at my children’s prodigious Shields cheeks or someone who needs a good humor-filled scolding, and, invariably, I think of my Grandpa Shields. To me they are as linked as two souls could be. And I know that they still are. I definitely give thanks for them and the influence they’ve had on my life.

Leave a Reply

