We almost made it without…

Stopping. But I had to fuel up and use the restroom. And then Frederick discovered that he had to, as well. We stopped in Osseo for gas and I was going to hit the McDonald’s next door for restroom and a coffee, but I thought that some pie would go nicely with coffee and where better to go for pie when in Osseo than the Norske Nook (NN)?

If you’ve ever driven with Frank on 94 in the Osseo area, then you are familiar with his modified fist-pump whenever he sees the NN sign. And I mean whenever. I’ve been dozing or almost asleep and he will still do it. Like a little salute to his countrymen’s cuisine. But in all my years of traveling to and fro Illinois and Minnesota, I have only stopped at NN once before.

20111031-104537.jpg

Of course, after sleeping like a good little traveler for four hours, Frederick was anxious to have a diaper change and something to eat. So he was crying a bit. As we went to our table in the back if the dining room, an older lady gave us a scornful look and said something. I returned her scorn and she almost – almost – got her treat early for Halloween.

I had a beef sandwich with a large pile of mashed potatoes, all covered with thick gravy, which softened the bread, making it very friendly to one-handed dining. I had it with a bottomless cup of coffee and a slice of Pecan Stout pie. The stout and malt cut the sweetness of a traditional pecan pie and provided an interesting flavor. It has me thinking of trying to replicate it for Thanksgiving because although delicious, I’m scared if how much a whole pie would cost from NN. So that’s what I had. Frederick just wanted his usual.

We stopped for about an hour and were home a shade after 5 pm. Then it was so wonderful to see Frank and Henry again, after almost 2.5 weeks. I swear that child has grown and is acting more mature! We donned warmer clothing and costumes on the kids and were out the door for trick-or-treating.

Henry mastered saying trick or treat and thank you, with just a little encouragement each time. We walked all the way to our friend Renee’s house and afterwards, Henry declared himself done and wanted to go home. He collected a pretty decent haul and I don’t think there was a tootsie roll or cheap bubble gum anywhere. Score!

When we got home, Henry helped hand out candy, a task he really seemed to enjoy. We watched a little of It’s the Great Pumpkin, Charlie Brown and played. Henry really missed his little brother and apparently me, too. When I got up to go to the kitchen, Henry asked me, “are you going again, mama?” I asked him, “would you like me to go again?” and he replied, “no, mama.” I’m glad I’m home, too.

20111031-104641.jpg

20111031-104651.jpg

20111031-104759.jpg

One thought on “We almost made it without…

  1. It’s almost impossible (I think) to not stop somewhere on a five-hour drive or more somewhere.

    Even more with a baby like Freddy, or E, for that matter, along.

Leave a Reply

