Feet

I thought the foot story of today would be how I managed to get blisters on my feet from the little bit of walking (ok, 3+ miles or so on nice days) I’ve been doing. Which is a bit amusing since I have been looking for a pair of stilettos inspirational enough to get me looking toward pre-Henry weight, now that I’m 5 pounds from pre-Frederick weight.

But the big trauma tonight was Henry’s splinter in his right foot. He got it at dinner time on our deck. I sooooo remember getting splinters myself when I was a kid. I couldn’t blame him for his shrieks when we got out the tweezers. Poor little guy. We let him wait it out a bit and eventually had to hold him down while he wailed. It just looked too darn big to let nature run its course and he couldn’t (or wouldn’t) walk on it, so something needed to be done.

I think the worst part of it was when he kind of just gave into it and was crying and asking “are you done yet Daddy?” that was really hard. It’s a reminder of how blessed we are to have healthy children who aren’t in pain or have chronic conditions. God bless those kids and parents. I thank God I’m not one of them, I don’t have the muster for that at all.

Leave a Reply

