The BIG day!

On Thursday, August 25, as he does almost every morning, Henry bounded into our bedroom saying, “wake up, Daddy!”  (Sometimes this is accompanied with “let’s go downstairs and play / watch a movie” and other times he’ll want to climb into bed between us for a few minutes.  But as I recall this morning, it was just “wake up, Daddy!”

Typically I will glance at the clock and try to ascertain if there’s enough time for me to doze for a few minutes, but as it was almost 6:10 AM, I decided I had better get up so Frank could transition back upstairs to get ready for work while I got Henry ready for school.

By the time I got downstairs, I reported to Frank that I felt a little crampy, but nothing really specific was happening. By the time Frank was out of the shower and getting dressed, I yelled upstairs that he might want to call into work. 

This inspired a rather ruffled looking Frank to appear downstairs immediately.  It was about 6:40 AM or so.  I went back upstairs and finished getting my hospital bag ready and get dressed while Frank tried to preserve as much of a “normal” morning as possible for Henry.

Normal seemed to be taking forever, though, so I know at some point I yelled downstairs, “are you guys leaving?!” I waved out of the window to them, thinking that Henry’s life was going to change that day, too.

Frank came back and we went downstairs. I hadn’t been able to time them, but I know that I had multiple contractions between 7:00 and 7:15 AM. We got in the car and I tried to call my doctor but found myself on hold the entire way to the hospital.

Thankfully, we didn’t have to try to haul our stuff from the parking lot, as Woodwinds Hospital has complimentary valet service, which I somewhat loudly told Frank he had to use.  Once inside, they wheeled me up to the maternity floor. It was about 7:30 AM by this time.  While doing the paperwork, I had one or two contractions and told the team there at the check in station that I was hoping to get an epidural.  They were a little like, “mm hmm, uh huh,” and I sensed that something was off. So I questioned them a little and they asked me if I was the scheduled induction.  II let them know that I wasn’t and that I wasn’t able to get through to the clinic or hospital during our short drive to Woodwinds.  That seemed to get things moving a little bit.

We got into a room and the I.V. was put in.  Soon after, Brooke, our main nurse, did an exam and found that I was already dilated to 8 cm.  I was totally floored. Things were moving along so swiftly and it was only around 8 AM! We decided it made sense to track down both my doctor and the anesthesiologist.

Doctor Wagner was the anesthesiologist and I think I will put him on my Valentine’s Day card list. He was efficient and accurate and the epidural he gave me was so spot-on and perfect that I could still move and feel my legs and feet, which gave me more control, without all those pesky labor pains. I love you, Dr. Wagner!

After a few minutes of resting and just generally catching our breath, Brooke and my doctor suggested we break the amniotic fluid bag.  Then all that was left was the pushing. So at 10:13 AM, they began coaching me through two contractions and several pushes later, at 10:18 AM, our darling Frederick was born.

Frederick John August Percic was born on Thursday, August 25, 2011 at 10:18 AM.  He weighed 9 pounds, 12 ounces and was 21 inches long.

Frederick shares his names with many others in our family, on both sides. We are so blessed by family and feel a special connectedness with his name as well as his proud big brother’s name, Henry William Allen Percic.

We are excited for this new chapter and hope to share many moments of it with you. Take a look at the slideshow below.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

One thought on “The BIG day!

  1. yea!!!!! omg…he’s big! he’s so cute and chubby! i love the new baby and henry looks adorable, too. and you and frank look amazing, too. miss you guys. hope to see this little guy before he becomes a kid. xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Leave a Reply

